
Gaming laptops for every budget, and one number that should change how you shop: the owner review counts behind these ratings vary enormously, and a score is only as trustworthy as the number of buyers behind it.
- A laptop RTX 5060 is not a desktop RTX 5060. Same name, different chip, and nobody says so.
- Nobody publishes the wattage, and it is the number that decides how fast your GPU actually runs.
- Some of these cost more than our $2,000 desktop, which is faster than all of them.
- Prices, ratings and review counts in the table and on the cards are read live from the listing and refresh automatically.
Buying a gaming laptop is harder than buying any desktop component, because the two numbers that decide performance are the two the listing is least likely to tell you: which version of the graphics chip is inside, and how many watts it is allowed to draw. Everything else on the specification sheet is easier to read and matters less.
Every pick below has a discrete NVIDIA graphics chip and a current Prime listing, which sounds like a low bar until you see what we had to exclude.
One finding frames the rest, and it is about evidence rather than specification. Some of these scores rest on far fewer owners than others. The Lenovo Legion 5i holds 4.4 stars from 100 ratings; the ASUS ROG Strix G16 holds 4.4 from 621. We list the review count on every card and in the table for exactly that reason: at this money, how many people have tested a machine is as useful as what is inside it.
The laptops at a glance
The Reviews column is the number of owner ratings behind each score, and it varies enormously here. That gap matters as much as the specification, and we say so on every card rather than hiding it.
| Laptop | Graphics | Screen | Memory | Price | Rating | Reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alienware 16 Aurora | RTX 5060 | 16″ 2560×1600 120Hz | 16GB | $1,428.99 | 4.2 | 164 |
| Acer Nitro V 16S AI | RTX 5060 | 16″ WUXGA 180Hz | 32GB | $1,399.99 | 4.4 | 357 |
| Lenovo Legion LOQ | RTX 5050 | 15.6″ FHD 144Hz | 16GB | $1,424.99 | 4.3 | 121 |
| ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2025) | RTX 5060 | 16″ FHD+ 165Hz | 16GB | $1,614.99 | 4.4 | 621 |
| MSI Katana 15 HX | RTX 5070 | 15.6″ QHD+ 165Hz | 32GB | $2,199.99 | 4.0 | 360 |
| Lenovo Legion 5i | RTX 5070 | 15″ 2.5K OLED 165Hz | 16GB | $2,249.99 | 4.4 | 100 |
| ASUS ROG Strix G16 (RTX 5070 Ti) | RTX 5070 Ti | 16″ 2.5K 240Hz | 32GB | $2,546.00 | 4.3 | 239 |

| Graphics | RTX 5060 |
| Screen | 16″ WUXGA 180Hz |
| Memory | 32GB DDR5 |
| Rating | 4.4 (357) |

| Graphics | RTX 5070 Ti |
| Screen | 16″ 2.5K 240Hz |
| Processor | Core Ultra 9 275HX |
| Rating | 4.3 (239) |

| Graphics | RTX 5050 |
| Screen | 15.6″ FHD 144Hz |
| Processor | Intel i7-13650HX |
| Rating | 4.3 (121) |

| Graphics | RTX 5060 |
| Screen | 16″ FHD+ 165Hz |
| Wireless | Wi-Fi 7 |
| Rating | 4.4 (621) |

| Graphics | RTX 5060 |
| Screen | 16″ 2560×1600 120Hz |
| Processor | Intel Core 7 240H |
| Rating | 4.2 (164) |

| Graphics | RTX 5070 |
| Screen | 15.6″ QHD+ 165Hz |
| Processor | Intel i9-14900HX |
| Rating | 4.0 (360) |

| Graphics | RTX 5070 |
| Screen | 15″ 2.5K OLED 165Hz |
| Processor | Intel i7-14700HX |
| Rating | 4.4 (100) |
ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2025), the one to buy
- HIGH-LEVEL PERFORMANCE – Unleash power with Windows 11 Home, an Intel Core i7 Processor 14650HX, and an NVIDIA GeForce R…
- FAST MEMORY AND STORAGE – Multitask seamlessly with 16GB of DDR5-5600MHz memory and store all your game library on 1TB o…
- DYNAMIC DISPLAY AND SMOOTH VISUALS – Immerse yourself in stunning visuals with the smooth 165Hz FHD+ display for gaming,…
An RTX 5060, an i7-14650HX, 16GB of DDR5, a 1TB Gen 4 drive, a 16-inch 165Hz 3ms panel and Wi-Fi 7, with 4.4 stars from 621 ratings.
It wins on evidence rather than on specification. Some of the machines here rest on far thinner review samples. This one rests on a deep owner sample, and it still holds 4.4 stars. When you cannot test a laptop yourself, that is the most useful number on the page.
- 621 owner ratings at 4.4 stars
- RTX 5060 with a 14th-generation i7
- Wi-Fi 7, which most laptops here lack
- 16:10 165Hz panel with a 3ms response
- 16GB of memory, where several laptops here give 32GB
- FHD+ rather than QHD, so the panel is the weakest part of the specification
- The listing does not state the graphics power limit, like every other laptop here
Acer Nitro V 16S AI, the value pick
- AI-Powered Performance: The AMD Ryzen 7 260 CPU powers the Nitro V 16S, offering up to 38 AI Overall TOPS to deliver cut…
- Game Changer: Powered by NVIDIA Blackwell architecture, GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop GPU unlocks the game changing realism of…
- Supreme Speed. Superior Visuals. Powered by AI: DLSS is a revolutionary suite of neural rendering technologies that uses…
$1,399.99 for an RTX 5060, an AMD Ryzen 7 260, 32GB of DDR5, a 1TB Gen 4 drive and a 16-inch WUXGA 180Hz panel, with 4.4 stars from 357 ratings.
This is the best balance of price and evidence here. Everything cheaper than it on this page has a far thinner review sample behind its score, and everything with a deeper sample costs more. If you want a machine that is both affordable and actually vouched for by owners, this is the narrow place where those two things overlap.
- $1,399.99 with 357 owner reviews, the best balance of price and evidence here
- 32GB of DDR5 as standard, and a second M.2 slot free for more storage
- 16-inch WUXGA at 180Hz, faster than most panels here
- Wi-Fi 6, where several laptops here have 6E or 7
- 1920 x 1200, below the QHD-class panels on the pricier machines here
- The listing does not state the graphics power limit
Lenovo Legion LOQ, the only RTX 5050 here
- STEP UP TO TRUE GAMING – The Lenovo Legion LOQ is your first step into gaming, unlocking a new caliber of entertainment….
- GAME WITHOUT COMPROMISE – Be everything you want to be, in game and out with optimized performance and new AI-enhanced f…
- STAY ICY, GAME SPICY – Lenovo LOQ’s Hyperchamber Cooling keeps your system from overheating with turbo fans and copper h…
$1,424.99 for an RTX 5050, an i7-13650HX, 16GB of memory, a 1TB drive and a 15.6-inch FHD 144Hz G-Sync panel, with 4.3 stars from 121 ratings.
It is the only machine on this page with an RTX 5050, and the only listing here that names G-Sync, which it pairs with a full HX-class processor. The Acer Nitro V 16S AI above carries an RTX 5060 and 32GB of memory, so compare the two before you buy.
- G-Sync, which no other laptop here lists
- 1TB of storage as standard
- Full HX-class processor rather than an H-series part
- RTX 5050, the entry rung of the RTX 50 laptop range
- 144Hz, where most panels here are 165Hz or faster
- 121 reviews is a moderate sample, not a deep one
- 15.6-inch FHD in a list where most rivals are 16 inches or larger
MSI Katana 15 HX, the i9 + RTX 5070 pick
- Intel Core i9 HX Power for Elite Gaming: Dominate demanding titles with the Intel Core i9-14900HX and its 24-core hybrid…
- GeForce RTX 5070 With Ray Tracing & DLSS 4: Powered by NVIDIA Blackwell, the RTX 5070 delivers stronger ray tracing, hig…
- QHD 165Hz, 100% DCI-P3 for Ultra-Clear Combat: The QHD 165Hz display reveals more detail, reduces motion blur, and boost…
An i9-14900HX, an RTX 5070, 32GB of DDR5, a 1TB NVMe drive and a 15.6-inch QHD+ 165Hz panel, at $2,199.99 with 4.0 stars from 360 ratings.
It is the only machine on this page pairing an i9 with 32GB, and the QHD+ panel has a genuine RTX 5070 behind it rather than a card that will struggle at that resolution.
The honest caveat is the score. Its star score is the weakest part of this listing, and unlike a thin sample, 360 reviews is enough for that number to mean something. Buy it for the hardware with your eyes open, not because the stars look fine.
- 360 owner ratings behind it
- i9-14900HX and 32GB DDR5
- RTX 5070 driving a QHD+ panel, which is the right pairing
- 1TB NVMe and an RGB keyboard
- 4.0 stars, on a sample large enough to trust
- 15.6-inch chassis for a 175W-class machine runs warm
- The listing does not state the graphics power limit
Lenovo Legion 5i, the only OLED screen here
- EXPLORE YOUR PASSION, ELEVATE YOUR GAME – The Lenovo Legion 5i empowers university gamers to explore their latest passio…
- GAME WITHOUT COMPROMISE – The Intel Core i7-14700HX processor features newly optimized hybrid architecture and industry …
- GAME CHANGER – Powered by NVIDIA Blackwell, the GeForce RTX 5070 graphics bring game-changing capabilities to gamers and…
$2,249.99 for an i7-14700HX, an RTX 5070, 16GB of memory, a 1TB drive and a 15-inch 2.5K WQXGA PureSight OLED panel at 165Hz, with 4.4 stars from 100 ratings.
It is the only OLED display on this page, and against every other panel here that is the single largest visible difference between these machines. Black levels and contrast are not a specification you get used to and stop noticing.
- The only OLED panel here, at 2.5K and 165Hz
- RTX 5070 with a 14th-generation i7
- 4.4 stars from 100 owners
- Includes three months of PC Game Pass per the listing
- 100 ratings is a moderate sample
- 16GB where the Katana gives 32GB
- 15-inch, the smallest screen among the RTX 5070 machines
- $2,249.99 puts it in the upper half of this page on price
ASUS ROG Strix G16 with RTX 5070 Ti, the step up
- CUTTING-EDGE PERFORMANCE – Experience next-level performance with Windows 11 Home, an Intel Core Ultra 9 Processor 275HX…
- HIGH-PERFORMANCE MEMORY AND STORAGE – Multitask seamlessly with 32GB of DDR5-5600MHz memory and store your game library …
- PREMIUM ROG NEBULA DISPLAY – Immerse yourself in stunning visuals with the ultra-fast 240Hz/3ms display ideal for gaming…
$2,546.00 for an RTX 5070 Ti, a Core Ultra 9 275HX, 32GB of DDR5, a 1TB Gen 4 drive and a 16-inch 2.5K 240Hz ROG Nebula panel, with 4.3 stars from 239 ratings.
This is our top pick, stepped up. The two listings give identical dimensions, and this one swaps in an RTX 5070 Ti, the strongest graphics chip on this page, doubles the memory to 32GB and runs its 2.5K panel at 240Hz, the fastest screen here. If the G16 above is the right laptop and your budget reaches further, this is the version to buy.
Its 239 ratings are a solid sample, and like every listing here it does not state the graphics power limit.
- RTX 5070 Ti, the strongest graphics chip on this page
- 32GB of DDR5, double the RTX 5060 version
- 2.5K at 240Hz, the fastest panel here
- Wi-Fi 7 and a Core Ultra 9 275HX
- 239 owner ratings behind it
- The listing does not state the graphics power limit
Alienware 16 Aurora, a 2560×1600 RTX 5060
- Brilliant display: Go deeper into games with a 16” 16:10 WQXGA display with 300 nits brightness.
- Game changing graphics: Step into the future of gaming and creation with NVIDIA GeForce RTX 50 Series Laptop GPUs, power…
- Innovative cooling: A newly designed Cryo-Chamber structure focuses airflow to the core components, where it matters mos…
$1,428.99 for an RTX 5060, an Intel Core 7 240H, 16GB of DDR5, a 1TB SSD and a 16-inch 2560×1600 120Hz panel, with 4.2 stars from 164 ratings.
It carries the same RTX 5060 name as our top pick, on a higher-resolution 16:10 panel that Dell rates at 300 nits. Like every listing here, it does not state the graphics power limit, so the chip name alone does not tell you how the two compare.
Two things set it apart from the rest of the page. Dell lists a Cryo-Chamber cooling structure that does away with the rear thermal shelf, and the listing includes 1 Year Onsite Service — an engineer to your home or office — which no other listing here names. The trade is the refresh rate: at 120Hz it is the slowest panel on this page.
- 2560×1600 16:10 panel, rated at 300 nits
- RTX 5060, the same chip name as our top pick
- 16GB of DDR5 and a 1TB SSD
- 1 Year Onsite Service, which no other listing here names
- 120Hz, the slowest panel on this page
- 16GB, where several laptops here give 32GB
- The listing does not state the graphics power limit
Which of these ship from Amazon
Every laptop on this page ships from and is sold by Amazon. We checked each listing. Machines this guide recommended before that check which had moved to marketplace sellers, or to a used-only listing, are named below under what we left out, because delivery and returns on a marketplace listing run through the seller rather than through Amazon, which is a real difference if something goes wrong.
A laptop RTX 5060 is not a desktop RTX 5060
This is the single most important thing to understand before spending a thousand dollars, and almost no listing explains it. NVIDIA uses the same names for laptop and desktop graphics chips, and they are different pieces of silicon. A laptop RTX 5060 has fewer resources and a far tighter power budget than the desktop card of the same name.
The practical consequence is that a laptop with an RTX 5060 in it does not perform like a desktop with an RTX 5060 in it, and the gap is not small. When you compare this laptop against the desktop card list in our graphics card guide, compare it a tier or more down from the name printed on the box.
None of this makes laptops bad. It makes the naming misleading, and it means the correct comparison is never the one the marketing invites you to make.
The wattage nobody publishes
Two laptops with the identical graphics chip can differ substantially in performance, because manufacturers choose how many watts to let that chip draw. A chip held to a low power limit in a thin chassis will lose to the same chip given room to run in a thicker one.
Not one of the listings on this page states that figure. Not one. It is the specification with the largest effect on real performance after the chip name itself, and it is systematically absent from retail listings across every brand here.
There is no way to solve this from the product page. What you can do is prefer the larger chassis when two laptops share a chip and a price, treat a thin machine with a high-end chip with suspicion, and look up the specific model on the manufacturer’s own site, where the number is sometimes published.
Is the best gaming laptop worth it against a desktop?
Our $2,000 desktop build costs more than the most reviewed laptop here. The desktop is still the faster machine, has memory and storage you can add to, parts you can replace individually, and a graphics card you can upgrade in three years without replacing the machine.
The laptop folds shut and goes in a bag. That is the entire trade, and for a lot of people it is worth more than the performance. Students, people who move between rooms, anyone without a permanent desk.
What we would push back on is buying a laptop for the value. At every price on this page, a desktop does more. If portability does not actually matter to you, the money goes further in our $1,000, $2,000 or $3,000 builds, or in a machine from our prebuilt guide.
What to buy alongside it
A gaming laptop is the only machine on this site that arrives complete, which makes it easy to forget that three cheap additions change the experience more than any specification upgrade on this page.
A mouse, first and without exception. Nobody plays competitively on a trackpad, and a good one costs a fraction of any laptop here. Our gaming mouse guide covers the range. A headset matters more on a laptop than a desktop, because laptop speakers are uniformly poor and the machine gets used in shared spaces; our headset guide has picks from budget upward.
An external monitor is the upgrade people underestimate. Every laptop here has a 15 to 16-inch panel, and plugging into a larger, faster display at a desk turns the same machine into a substantially better one for nothing but the cost of the screen. Our best gaming monitors 2026 guide covers what to pair with each graphics tier.
If your laptop has a free M.2 slot, storage is often the only internal upgrade you will ever be able to make, and the drives in our NVMe guide fit laptops as well as desktops. Check your specific model first, because some machines have a single occupied slot and no second one.
Check who is actually selling your best gaming laptop
This is the check that changed this page, and it is the one nobody tells you to make. When we rebuilt this guide, seven of the eight laptops it previously recommended had lost their Prime delivery, and most had quietly moved from Amazon itself to marketplace resellers with names like HotDeal Express, SAVEABIZ and Emma’s Market. One had moved to Amazon Resale, which is the warehouse channel — a returned or open-box machine listed under a title that reads exactly like a new one.
None of that is visible from a search results page. The Prime badge shown in search is frequently absent once you open the listing, and the seller line is never shown in search at all. It is only on the product page itself, in the box on the right under the price, that you can see who holds the sale and what delivery you are actually being offered.
Three things to read before you click buy, in this order. Who it ships from and who sells it, which are two separate lines and can name two different companies. Whether the delivery estimate is a genuine Prime one rather than a standard free-shipping date a week out. And whether the condition is new, because the warehouse channel uses the same product title and photography as the new listing.
This matters more on laptops than on components. A $40 cooler from an unknown seller is an annoyance if it goes wrong; a $1,500 machine bought from a reseller who has since vanished is a warranty problem you will be solving on your own. Where two listings are the same laptop at a similar price, take the one sold by Amazon or the brand store, every time.
What we left out and why
Three laptops this page recommended until September 2026. The Acer Nitro V with an RTX 5050 and the Alienware X16 R2 moved to marketplace sellers with no Prime delivery, and the ASUS ROG Strix Scar 18 is now offered only used, through Amazon Resale. A pick that fails our check comes off the page rather than staying with a warning.
The MSI Cyborg 17 was on this page until today. It is still sold and shipped by Amazon, and the hardware is not the problem: it holds only 41 owner ratings, which is below the 50-rating floor we require before recommending anything. It comes off for that reason alone.
Seven of the eight laptops this guide previously listed. Every one of them lost its Prime listing between builds, and most had migrated to marketplace resellers — HotDeal Express, SAVEABIZ, Emma’s Market, GS Electronics, Electronics Star, TechNova PC. One had moved to Amazon Resale, the warehouse channel, which is a used listing under a new-looking title. That is the single biggest thing we learned rebuilding this page, and it is covered below.
An Acer Predator Helios Neo 16 with an RTX 5070 Ti. Amazon-sold, well reviewed, and no Prime line at all on the rendered page.
An HP OMEN Transcend 16. Prime, Amazon-sold, 4.5 stars — from three ratings, on a bundle listing. Three is not evidence.
We also excluded anything renewed or refurbished, and the two 2025 ASUS models that look like natural upgrades of our picks, because both are held by resellers with no Prime delivery despite the newer model numbers.
How we picked the best gaming laptop here
Twenty-six distinct laptop listings were checked across seven brands — ASUS, MSI, Acer, Lenovo, HP, Alienware and GIGABYTE. Each one was opened individually and read on the rendered product page for seller, delivery, price, rating, review count and stock, because search results routinely show a Prime badge on listings that carry none.
Three filters, in order. A discrete NVIDIA graphics chip, which removes the ultraportables that use the words “Gaming Laptop” in their titles. A real Prime delivery offer on the listing itself, which is where nineteen of the twenty-six fell out. Four stars or better, which is the floor we hold every pick on this site to.
Every pick is re-checked against its live listing, and a machine that loses its Prime delivery, its Amazon seller or its new-condition offer comes off the page. We also weigh how many owners stand behind each score, and we passed over laptops whose ratings rest on too few owners to trust. The sample size is printed on every card and in the comparison table, and where it is thinner we say so in the write-up rather than letting a high score built on a handful of people do quiet work.
The honest summary of this category: many gaming laptops with deep review histories have moved to marketplace resellers without Prime, so a clean Amazon listing with a deep review history behind it is worth paying a little more for.
Frequently asked questions
Is a laptop RTX 5060 the same as a desktop RTX 5060?
No, and this is the most important thing to understand before buying. NVIDIA uses the same names for laptop and desktop chips but they are different silicon with very different power budgets. A laptop RTX 5060 performs meaningfully below the desktop card of the same name, so compare it a tier or more down from the name on the box.
How much RAM does a gaming laptop need in 2026?
16GB is the sensible minimum and every laptop on this page now meets it. The MSI Katana 15 HX, the Acer Nitro V 16S AI and the RTX 5070 Ti version of the ASUS ROG Strix G16 go to 32GB. The reason to care is that laptop memory is often soldered and cannot be upgraded later, so unlike a desktop you are buying the final figure rather than a starting point. Check whether your specific model has a socketed slot before assuming otherwise.
Why do two laptops with the same graphics chip perform differently?
Because manufacturers choose how many watts the chip is allowed to draw, and that number changes performance substantially. A chip held to a low limit in a thin chassis loses to the same chip given room in a thicker one. Not one of the listings here publishes that figure, which is why it is worth checking the manufacturer’s own site.
Does a high star rating mean much on a gaming laptop?
Only alongside the number of reviews behind it. On this page, near-identical scores rest on very different numbers of owners. The most trustworthy scores on the page are the ones built on hundreds of ratings, because a score built on a dozen buyers tells you almost nothing about how a machine holds up. We print the review count on every card for that reason.
Should I buy a gaming laptop or a desktop?
Buy the laptop if it genuinely needs to move. Our $2,000 desktop build costs more than the most reviewed laptop here, and it is faster, upgradeable and repairable. Portability is a fair thing to pay for. It is not a fair thing to pay for by accident.
What screen should a gaming laptop have?
Match the panel to the graphics chip. The cheaper machines here are 1080p or 1200p at 144Hz to 180Hz, which suits an RTX 5050 or 5060 well. The QHD and WQXGA panels on this page all sit behind an RTX 4070 or better, which is the correct pairing. A sharp screen driven by an entry chip means lowering the resolution anyway.
Can you upgrade a gaming laptop?
Barely. Storage is often replaceable and memory sometimes is, but the graphics chip and processor are soldered permanently. This is the core difference from a desktop, where every part can be swapped. If you expect to upgrade rather than replace in three years, buy a desktop.
How much should I spend on a gaming laptop?
Around $1,000 gets a competent 1200p machine with 16GB of memory and a current-generation chip. Around $1,400 buys a deeper review history, which at this price is worth real money. Above $1,500 you are into territory where a desktop of the same money is clearly faster, so be sure you need the portability.
What is the best gaming laptop for the money?
The ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2025). It has an RTX 5060, a 14th-generation i7, 16GB of DDR5, a 1TB Gen 4 drive, a 165Hz 16:10 panel and Wi-Fi 7, and it holds a deep owner record.
The bottom line on the best gaming laptop for 2026
There is no one machine here that suits everybody, but there is a clear best buy on this page: the ASUS ROG Strix G16 (2025). It has a current-generation RTX 5060, a 14th-generation i7, Wi-Fi 7 and 621 ratings at 4.4 stars — a deep owner record, on a page where some machines rest on far fewer reviews.
On a tighter budget, the Acer Nitro V 16S AI at $1,399.99 is the lowest-priced machine on this page that clears our review-count floor comfortably. If you want an i9 with 32GB, the MSI Katana 15 HX at $2,199.99 pairs them with an RTX 5070 — just note its 4.0 star score.
And before you buy any of them: check the model year, check who is actually selling it, and remember that the graphics chip in a laptop is not the desktop part it shares a name with. If the machine never actually needs to move, our $2,000 desktop build costs less than some of these and outruns all of them.
Prices, ratings and review counts in the table and on the cards update automatically. Figures written into the surrounding text were last checked and carry no guarantee beyond that. Laptop prices and sellers move faster than component prices: seven machines this guide previously listed lost their Prime delivery entirely. Check each one before you buy.
A controller matters more on a laptop than on a desktop, because the built-in keyboard is cramped and the trackpad is useless for games. Our gaming controller guide covers the pads we recommend, and any of them will pair with every machine on this page over Bluetooth or a cable.
A console is the other way to game without a desktop, and it is considerably cheaper. Our gaming console guide covers the consoles we recommend, and even the most powerful home console costs less than any laptop here. The trade is a closed library against a portable Windows PC.
A laptop lives or dies on its wireless connection more than any desktop does. Our WiFi 6 vs 6E vs 7 explainer covers which standard your machine can actually use, and why buying a newer router than your laptop supports gets you nothing.
A gaming laptop fills up faster than a desktop and is harder to open. Our external SSD guide covers portable drives that add storage without taking the machine apart.
Gamers Tech Guide participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
